Internal Medicine



Internal medicine is the term used to describe the medical profession that focuses on comprehensive adult care. San Diego internal medicine doctors are called internists. These doctors care for a person for the duration of his or her lifetime.

The San Diego internal medicine doctors at Pacific Medical Care are Board Certified, highly skilled, compassionate and knowledgable. Care is provided at our Downtown San Diego clinic.

How are internists different from family practitioners?

Internal medicine providers devote three years of education studying adult medicine, and learning how to diagnose and treat adult diseases. Family practitioners treat people from age 0 through 100, and specialize in family practice. Internists do not deliver babies, do not perform surgery, and do not treat children. Internists have a wide-range of knowledge based on complex diseases.


Book your Pacific Medical Care appointment online. Easy. Convenient. Hassle-free.

What conditions are treated by internists?

What types of care will I receive?

An internist treats a variety of conditions, from something as routine as a cold to in-depth care for chronic illnesses, such as heart disease or diabetes. Internists can coordinate many subspecialists in order to treat a certain ailment or disease. Patients like to know they have a long-term relationship with a doctor who can provide complex care.

Does the doctor focus on the whole patient?

With internal medicine, the physician focuses on the whole patient, no matter how simple or complex the issue. Internal medicine involves solving puzzling diagnostic problems, which involves handling severe chronic illnesses and situations. Internists bring patients to an understanding of wellness, as well as treating substance abuse, women’s health, mental health, and common problems of the ears, eyes, skin, reproductive organs, and nervous system.

What does FACP mean?

When you see the letters “FACP” after the doctor’s name, this means the doctor is a Fellow of the American College of Physicians. This is a distinguished group of doctors who are dedicated to contribution to medical practice and ongoing education. Fellowship into the FACP is honorary, and designation is only given to those individuals who meet specific criteria. FACP is a mark of distinction, and doctors with this credential are involved with publishing scientific articles, hospital appointments, teaching, public service, and continuing medical education.

What are internal medicine subspecialties?

Internists often focus on general internal medicine. However, many of these doctors have additional training to subspecialize in one of 13 different areas. These include: